myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“If I Can’t Change Your Mind”

Posted by purplemary54 on March 8, 2014

I record The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson on the DVR, and the recording always begins while Letterman’s musical guest is still playing.  The other day, Bob Mould was playing his brilliant song “See a Little Light”. Apparently there’s a 25th anniversary re-release of Workbook out that I’m probably going to have to get.  The few seconds I saw just served to remind me how much I love this guy.  

Sugar was his second band, formed some years after Husker Du dissolved into acrimony.  They were terrific, and one of the best tunes they did was “If I Can’t Change Your Mind,” which is one of Mould’s plaintive I-know-you’re-gonna-leave-me-but-I-don’t-know-why songs.  Usually, I listen to it two or three times in a row.  It’s like potato chips: you’ can’t have just one.  But this isn’t just musical junk food.  The jangly guitars and emo boy lyrics are the perfect combination, hiding the angry edge present in so much of Mould’s work.  It’s one of those songs I can’t find a single thing wrong with.

I usually like to post the original version of a song when I can, and there’s a pretty good  video for “If I Can’t Change Your Mind” that I’d never seen before.  But my search also turned up this fairly recent (judging from Mould’s beard, glasses, and lack of hairline) performance for the A.V. Club which was just amazing.  He’s so wonderfully self-deprecating in the little intro, so don’t skip it.

Leave a Reply

 
