myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Lunar Eclipse Tonight . . .er, Tomorrow

Posted by purplemary54 on April 14, 2014

To celebrate tax day in a couple of hours (Pacific time), the universe will be presenting us with a “blood moon.”

Okay, the red appearance of the moon during tonight’s total eclipse is really just coincidental to the fact that I, like so many other Americans, just sent out a bunch of money to the IRS.  I guess Dad’s partially to blame, as the big check was related to his estate.  But he’s also getting a refund that more than covers the payment and will pay the mortgage for a couple of months, so I guess I can’t complain.  Much.

I’m looking forward to tonight’s eclipse.  I think I’m going to try to stay up for the main event, which is well after midnight.  I figure I can sleep in a little bit tomorrow.  I prefer the moon to the sun, anyway, and I don’t need special glasses to observe a lunar eclipse.  I don’t know if it’s visible in other areas, but it is streaming live on the Griffith Observatory’s website if anyone is interested.  And awake.  (There’s not much going on right now, 10:12 PM, PST, but I can hear some astronomer sort talking about what lunar eclipses look like.)

I refuse to buy into any talk of this being a sign or omen of anything.  The moon will turn a funny color tonight because of the way orbits and shadows are crossing paths, not because some deity has decided to frighten us.  Really, the scientific explanations for how things work is much more interesting than any religious ones.  But for anyone so inclined to believe this is an omen of things to come, please contact me for an address to send your life savings to; I could use the cash.

 

Leave a Reply

 
