myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Southern Girls”

Posted by purplemary54 on April 16, 2014

I was kind of ranty yesterday.  Really, I don’t quite know where that came from.  So I figured I’d balance it with something a little less . . . intense.

This is one of my all-time favorite Cheap Trick songs.  It actually might make it on a Top Hundred of songs I’d need on any sort of medium.  It’s just that cool.  There’s a hint of something more serious behind this bit of Power Pop, like maybe there’s some peanuts in this musical candy bar (listen to the chorus).  But it’s hard to want to dig too deep into it.  It’s just a great beat, great guitar, and some sexy singing.

Back in the day, Robin Zander and Tom Petersson were pretty damn hot.  But at least half their hotness comes from their talent.  Pretty and sexy don’t mean that much if there’s nothing to back it up.  I need a brain, or at least some good music to listen to.  They’re eye candy, to be sure.  And Cheap Trick’s music is ear candy.  Addictive ear candy.  I’ll listen to “Southern Girls” two or three times in a row before I move on.

That’s about all there is to say about this sweet little nugget.  It might lack substance, but it sure is delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

 
