myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Posted by purplemary54 on April 17, 2014

As a writer, I am enmeshed in words—my own words and those of the writers around me.  But I will never, ever, write words as magnificent as those of Gabriel Garcia Marquez.  His voice brought more beauty and sadness and joy to my world than I could ever quantify.  He was one of the finest writers who ever lived.  Word has come today that he lives no more.

But writers, like all artists, live forever in their works.  Although Garcia Marquez was more lauded for 100 Years of Solitude, my favorite will always be Love in the Time of Cholera.  It was the first book I read that had a perfect ending.  I don’t mean perfect as in what I would have wanted to happen, but perfect in that it was the most completely appropriate and believable ending to the story that unfolded before it.  The language in that book was so lush and wonderful, so full of magic.  I still recommend it to anyone who asks me about good books to read.  If you haven’t read it, go get a copy.  Right now.  Steal one, if you must.  It’s that good.

Garcia Marquez was a native of Colombia, although he ended his life in Mexico.  So it seems totally appropriate to play this song by Los Lobos in his honor.  Oddly, it’s the first music I heard in my head when thinking about his life and death.

6 Responses to “Gabriel Garcia Marquez”

  1. You are very interesting purpszzz,

    I love Gabo mostly because he made part of my culture something tangible. The Caribbean or the part of it with Negros has a weird affiliations with Latin America, but I always feel that cultural we share a lot.

    Can I ask what type of stuff aside from the blog do you write?

    • I usually write poetry, and keep semi-regular journals filled with random thoughts and song lyrics. I’ve dabbled in writing longer fiction, such as a novel, but I think my level of discipline is more suited to short stories.

      • That’s awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        Do you have anything published, I’d be interesting in check out your work. I’d share mine as well of course

        • BTW, I forgot to mention how utterly cool I think it is that you’re so psyched that I write poetry. You totally rock, man!

          • I have been writing poetry since 16, and bad half writing novels. It’s been all crap until about 5 years ago I started getting serious about it and I really have been kicking my game up.

            It’s hard to find many people actually into poetry or who read or who give a shit about what I do so its really cool that you write poetry.

  2. I had a couple of super local, hard copy zines publish things, but that was back in the 90s. I’ve just gotten back into writing on a semi-regular basis (thanks, blog!), so I don’t really have anything I want to share right now. But I’ll be in touch if I need an extra pair of eyes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
