myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Take the Money and Run”

Posted by purplemary54 on May 7, 2014

I’ve had this song stuck in my head for the last few hours.  I’d say there wasn’t a reason for it, but there is.  It’s just kind of silly.

I spent a great deal of money that I don’t really have on stuff that I didn’t really need in the last week.  I bought a couple of new floor lamps to replace the working-but-ugly ones we currently have.  And I got a small hamper for the laundry room (I need someplace to toss dirty rags and kitchen towels).  The most extravagant purchase was probably the cat tree; although it wasn’t terribly expensive, it has the least use.  Even the hummingbird feeder for outside will be more useful than the cat tree–at least, it will for the hummingbirds.

But I like the new cat tree.  It replaces the old one that was covered in ugly blue carpet.  My Kylie liked the old one and scratched it all the time, but she hasn’t taken to the small scratching items I bought her since I moved the old one out.  I’m hoping she likes this one with its toys and perches and a nice hidey hole.  And it matches the furniture, so my mother probably won’t complain about it too much (she’s very concerned with the way things look).

I’m sure you’re wondering what all this has to do with Steve Miller’s “Take the Money and Run,” or how my new cat furniture planted this earworm in my head.  Well, Dad and I both started calling the old cat tree the Kitty Castle when Sasha and Kylie came to live with us.  They would sit on the top platform and do their best to look regal and imposing, mistresses of all they surveyed.  So the new cat tree is really the new Kitty Castle.  And “Billy Joe shot a man while robbing his castle.”  And there you have the birth of an earworm.  You’re welcome.

2 Responses to ““Take the Money and Run””

  1. 45spin said

    You just just made my day, I’m using your post to prove to my daughter that cat trees are not a crazy idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
