myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Isla Vista

Posted by purplemary54 on May 27, 2014

I’m just done.

I know.  I’ve said it before.  Unfortunately, because this country has its head so far up the NRA’s ass we can see their lips move as they lie to us, I’ll probably have to say it again.  Soon.  My guess is, sometime within the next six months.

I’ve been struggling for the last few days to articulate my reaction to the latest shooting rampage by a psychopath.  I’m still not sure how to say what I really feel like I need to say.  This nightmare has again highlighted the need for better mental health care in this country, although I’m not sure how much that would’ve helped in this case.  This monster seemed to be able to pass himself off as relatively normal.  He probably fooled every therapist he ever had.  (I commend his parents for seeing that there was a problem, and trying to get law enforcement’s attention.)  But I can’t shake the idea that somewhere in this messed up kid’s life, someone with the right training and right access could’ve done something to stop him before he got started.

But what we really need is to ban guns.  Right now.  All of them.  Every single fucking weapon needs to be gone.

I don’t care about whatever pathetic excuses the NRA or stupid fucks who own guns are going to try to come up with to justify the fact that this horrific crime was committed with guns that were legally purchased and registered.  I don’t care about the Second Amendment.  Repeal it.  It has long since outlived both its usefulness and our ability to properly interpret what a “well-regulated militia” is.  (FYI, in my mind that means the cops and the standing military, neither of which we had when the Second Amendment was written.)  I just don’t care anymore.  I’m so sick of this, so furious to see more parents burying their babies, that nothing anyone will try to say can change my mind.  My hatred of all guns is now written in stone.

Sorry.  I tried to be articulate, and I came away with more raging.  But I am going to start researching how to get the Second Amendment repealed.  It seems like that might be the only thing we can do to end this horror.

2 Responses to “Isla Vista”

  1. 45spin said

    What scares me is how can somebody feel that disconnected from the rest of the world.

    • I get his social problems and disconnect; he had Asperger’s, after all. What amazes me is how he turned all his problems into someone else’s fault. I usually feel a measure of pity for these people, because they’re so obviously ill, but this yahoo inspires nothing but contempt in me. Every time I see him complaining about how women didn’t want him, I want to tell him it’s because he comes off like a serial killer.

Leave a Reply

 
