myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

As Seen on TV: “Josie and the Pussycats”

Posted by purplemary54 on June 2, 2014

I’ve been a little heavy lately, so I thought I’d lighten things up a bit.  I’ve also been kind of anti-social.  There’s several blogs I regularly read and comment on, but I haven’t been for several days.  (There’s one or two I’ve been keeping up with, but mostly I just haven’t wanted to engage.)  I know I’ll have a lot of catching up to do when I do come back.  Soon.

But right now, I just want to go back to Saturday mornings and tap my toes to some surprisingly good theme music.

Josie and the Pussycats began life as a spin-off from Archie comics.  The cartoon was apparently quite different from the comic book  (maybe I’ll look up some old issues just to see how different), more like another famous Hanna-Barbera show (ruh-roh!)  The cute all-girl band and their friends were constantly chasing various criminal elements bent on taking over the world.  The chase sequences were set to some pretty catchy tunes that a lot of bands in the 60s would’ve given their eye teeth for.  (Here’s a link to one I really enjoyed.)  Since the characters were in a band, the music made sense.  Too bad they didn’t put as much effort into the animation and other elements; the show might’ve been more successful.

It’s something of a cult classic now.  Boomerang was airing the show after midnight during the week until just recently, but I don’t think there were enough episodes to keep that up for very long.   A movie version came out in the early 2000’s, but everything I saw told me that the “updated” version just didn’t cut it.  Josie and the Pussycats was probably always going to be an also-ran, but I thought it was pretty keen when I was a kid.

3 Responses to “As Seen on TV: “Josie and the Pussycats””

  1. dan4kent said

    Stop it! I remember this…dare I say, fondly. Spend the time you need…’cause you’re never away when you’re where you’re at. Same for me. Be well. Dan

    • I sing along whenever I hear it. I’ll be catching up on your stuff tomorrow, probably. Your stuff requires energy, which I love, but my sinus headache won’t let me devote much mental space to anything just now.

Leave a Reply

 
