myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Rescue Me”

Posted by purplemary54 on June 5, 2014

As I was looking for a clip for this song, I realized why I’d never posted it before.  It seems no one wants/has access/has the rights to post the original video that aired on MTV way back when  Most of the live clips had terrible sound.  (The one I chose isn’t much better, but it seemed the truest to the studio version, which is the one that has always worked best for me.)

I know the Alarm never really hit it as big in the United States as other UK bands.  “Rescue Me” only made it to number 48 on the charts, which probably explains the lack of interest in posting the video.  I’d never given the Alarm much thought before this single, but I fell in love with it as soon as I heard it.  It was just the right side of corny, with a nice jangly guitar and a steady driving beat.  (I’ll bet this is a great song to jog to; I always think of someone running somewhere whenever I hear it.)

I vaguely remember the video.  Lead singer Mike Peters sits more or less still while various figures move rapidly around him (probably filmed in slo-mo then played at normal speed).  Everything was blue.  I suspect it was meant to tie into the cover of the album the song was from, Eye of the Hurricane.  As a child of the music video era, I find it frustrating when I can’t access the versions of songs I became familiar with, especially when I know they exist.  After all, isn’t that what the interwebs is for?  To archive and collect and collate and distribute every single piece of media/information ever, regardless of value.  It’s gotta mean something to someone, somewhere.

Leave a Reply

 
