myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Repost: “I Fought the Law”

Posted by purplemary54 on June 10, 2014

Ignore the opening paragraph about getting my check-ups.  I haven’t done that yet this year, but I will soon.  Other than that, my feelings about this song are pretty much the same.

I went in to the doctors today for my annual check-ups. Yeah, plural. I decided that the old-fashioned thing of taking a day off work and spending it getting a complete physical is kind of a great idea (if you can pull it off). That way, all the stress and inconvenience is limited to one day and, barring something bad, is done for a year. So I did all my least favorite activities today, except for getting my teeth and eyes checked. Send me some good vibes so that all the results are negative.

Maybe that’s why I’m feeling a little rebellious today. I can’t think of a better song about rebellion, although really it’s more about the consequences of rebellion. After all, he sings “I fought the law, and the law won.” He’s in prison, maybe even on a chain gang, for “robbin’ people with a six-gun.” He misses being out in the world having fun with his girlfriend, maybe she even tried to stop him. (Hey, that gives me an idea for tomorrow’s post. What’s this situation like from the girl’s perspective?) He doesn’t sound like a particularly violent or desperate criminal, but it does seem a little like he got some thrills out of his high crimes and misdemeanors. If this guy were committing crimes today, he’d probably be stupid enough to lead the cops on a high-speed chase. Or he’d end up as a character in some depressing indie film about an ex-con trying to reconnect with the son he never knew.

It seems like the stars aligned for “I Fought the Law,” though. It’s not the best written or most original song ever. The structure is pretty basic, the playing nothing out of this world (although the lead guitar and drums are pretty darn good). But there is something that keeps me coming back, over and over. I never really get tired of hearing this song. Maybe it’s not the song. Maybe it’s the mystery.

Shortly after “I Fought the Law” became a hit for The Bobby Fuller Four, leader Bobby Fuller was found dead in the front seat of his car. Although the circumstances were suspicious, Fuller’s death was ultimately ruled “accidental.” Most people who knew him thought he was murdered. To this day, there is no resolution. I like a good mystery, especially an unsolved one. It leaves all sorts of tantalizing possibilities open. Kind of like this song. Bobby Fuller was young, talented, and on the rise. He had so much potential, and it’s all there in this song.

 

2 Responses to “Repost: “I Fought the Law””

  1. 45spin said

    Nothing like a 60’s video to have a great rebel song with a band playing in suits while Go Go Dancers are dancing in the background. Hmm…………. What A Bunch Of Rebels 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
