myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Rubberband Man”

Posted by purplemary54 on July 2, 2014

I have a jelly jar filled with rubber bands sitting on top of my desk.  Our mailman likes to wrap up the mail in them.  I thought might’ve started back when we still used the mail slot in the front door; it’s probably easier to shove the stack of grocery store fliers, credit card offers, and bills through that two-inch tall opening when it’s corralled somehow.  But it’s not just us: He does this to everyone’s mail.  Why?  Probably a way for him to organize and make his job a little bit easier.

What isn’t easier about it is that I’ve got a jelly jar full of rubber bands on top of my desk.  I use the occasional rubber band to bind up a loose cord, or re-close a bag of chips for later consumption.  But the plain fact is I don’t need that many rubber bands.  I don’t do crafts.  Even if I had long hair, I wouldn’t use regular rubber bands in it (ouch!).  They’re not good cat toys.  That doesn’t mean cats don’t like to play with them.  Quite the opposite, in fact.  My Sasha likes them almost as much as my late lamented Harry did.  But rubber bands can break.  Get swallowed.  Turn into expensive visits to the vet requiring major intestinal surgery.  That’s another reason the rubber bands are in a jar, and not just lying around where anyone can find them.

Okay.  I pushed the pile in the jar down a little, and now it’s only two-thirds full.  More room for the next couple of weeks’ worth of mail.  *sigh*  Well, I guess rubber bands are good for one more thing:

Dancing.

The smallish bands I have won’t stretch the way the ones in the video do.  Heck, today this would be a fitness craze.  “C’mon and burn some calories with the Rubberband Man!  Boingy, boingy, boingy!”  (Brownie points to anyone who gets the “boingy” reference.  And no, it’s not dirty.)  Maybe this is where those resistance bands were inspired (and, really, they are just great big rubber bands).  It’s a fun song, anyway.  Dig all that blue polyester on the stage.  (FYI, for just a moment, I thought one of those backup singers was Ja’net DuBois from Good Times.  But then the picture cleared up a little.)

Just another day on the home front.

6 Responses to ““Rubberband Man””

  1. 45spin said

    This was the song that I danced to when I first met my wife, we still dance to it today. Was this the video from Soul Train?

  2. dan4kent said

    PM! Love this track! Nothing finer then doing a little house cleaning to the beat behind the vocals. Really fine. I’m grinning. Peace. Out. Dan

Leave a Reply

 
