myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Observations

Posted by purplemary54 on July 8, 2014

I don’t really have any specific song to riff about today, so I just thought I’d note a few things I’ve observed about the music world.

1) Jason Mraz (and Jack Johnson, and the rest of their easygoing ilk) makes me want to gouge my eyes out with spoons.

2) If it can be remastered, repackaged, and sold in a deluxe edition with extra tracks, a booklet, and a retrospective photo collage, it will be.  (But that begs the question, does the world really need an expanded edition of the Beau Brummels’ Bradley’s Barn?  I know there must be some Beau Brummels fans out there, but are there so many that the expense of producing this is justified?)

3) Today’s Pop music sucks ass.  I know, most Pop music has always sucked ass, but it’s worse now than it’s ever been.  Worse, because of the scourge of singing competition shows, virtually all of these singers/artists are interchangeable.  It’s especially prevalent among the women, where Lady Rhianna Beyonce Katy Colbie Sara Miley Ariana Taylor Demi Lorde rules the charts.  (Yes, I am aware that there are distinct stylistic differences among all these women, not to mention varying levels of actual technical skill; but they all sound the same to me.)

4) Justin Bieber really needs to get over himself.  Maybe someone should tell him his mother lied, and he really isn’t that special after all.

5)  I hate Rush.  I know that in some circles this is akin to announcing that I’d like to eat babies for breakfast, but there it is.  They are boring and obvious and pretentious, just like the rest of Prog Rock.  (Except for Neil Peart.  Neil Peart is bad ass.)

6) I’m sorry, but streaming music on {insert name of electronic device here} is not the same thing as owning something.  I don’t necessarily mean owning a physical copy of something, although I have immediately burned discs of downloaded albums that I think are especially awesome.  I mean possessing a copy in some form that will follow you wherever you go and is not subject to the whims of anyone else.  I think streaming services are just another way to screw the artists out of money for their very hard work while lining the pockets of corporations and suits.

7) The fact that Pink Floyd has a new album coming out just depresses me.  They stopped mattering so long ago, I’m not sure even their fans care anymore.  Besides, all anyone will want to hear during the tour is “Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 2.”

That’s really about it.  I know this makes me sound like some crazy old lady with too many cats yelling at kids to get off her lawn, but, hey, I’m still only middle-aged.  And I’m sure there are other observations floating around out there in the ether, waiting to start buzzing around my head like demented flies.  But I have a fly swatter and bug spray.

And get off my lawn!

2 Responses to “Observations”

  1. 45spin said

    As usual I agree with all the above rants and you are totally right about musicians getting screwed by streaming music services. It’s pretty hard to make a living when your music isn’t collecting any significant royalties anymore.

    The Beau Brummels’ “Bradley’s Barn” is definitely worth an expand edition as it was their chance to move into the early era of country rock and out of the garage. The “Barn” by the way is Bradley Owens Recording studio which is right outside of Nashville.

Leave a Reply

 
