myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Sex (I’m a)”

Posted by purplemary54 on July 9, 2014

As I was catching up on episodes of Pop Culture Happy Hour a while back, panelist Glen Weldon recommended a few comic titles for listeners as part of the What’s Making Us Happy segment.  (He’s their resident comic expert; he wrote a book on Superman that I have but haven’t read yet, and is currently writing one about Batman that I’m very much looking forward to.)  Now I like comic books; I think it’s a pretty awesome art form.  But I am pretty helpless when it comes to knowing much about them, so I tend to rely on the recommendations of people who know more than I do.  Well, one of the titles Weldon recommended some months ago has really made me very happy indeed.

Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky is about a guy (Jon) and a girl (Suzie) who both discover (independently) that they have the ability to temporarily stop time when they reach sexual climax.  They meet, get it on, and find out that they share something besides taste in literature.  (Suzie talks to Jon in the first place because he quotes a passage from Lolita to her.)  They decide to use this ability to rob the bank Jon works for to save the library that Suzie works for.  Of course, it doesn’t go off (or get off) without a hitch.

That’s about as far as I’ve gotten.  I bought the compilation of the first five issues, but I haven’t read #5 yet, so I don’t know what happens to our libidinous heroes.  Issue #6 has hit the stands, so I know I’ll be heading over to my local comic shop to get it as soon as I finish the compilation.  It’s fun.  There’s some clever jokes about sex and literature.  The art isn’t groundbreaking, but it has a good pop to it.  The characters are great, and there’s just enough pathos to keep things interesting.  I’d like to officially echo Weldon’s recommendation here.  Comics are pretty underrated as a relatively cheap form of entertainment, especially if you get in on the ground floor of a title.  And I think Sex Criminals is only going up.

Leave a Reply

 
