myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“My Country”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 26, 2014

I’ve been watching quite a bit of television lately, but in my defense, I think most of it was time well spent.  The premieres of Gotham and Sleepy Hollow were pretty darn cool (but I’m pretty sure Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D has lost me).  And PBS has given me some lovely time with antiques and Richard III.  Okay, there was a bunch of time with football and poker, which will be repeated this weekend.  But a special deal with Time Warner and a local channel meant I got to hear the dulcet tones of Vin Scully while I was jotting some notes the other night.  (I don’t particularly like baseball, but Vin is one of the warm voices from my childhood.)

I’ve been writing a bit, too.  An idea came to me in a dream the other day, and I’ve been trying to flesh it out.  I sent my notes to Mr. BFF because he is my go-to guy for Science Fiction, and this idea falls under that umbrella.  I’m trying to write more regularly again.  Not just the blog (which clearly, I’ve fallen down on a bit lately), but possible stories and novels.  And poetry.  I beginning to miss writing poetry.  Maybe after the relative peace of my 30s and early 40s I’m ready to get back into angst.  Who knows.

But TV has been a thing for me.  And it will be for the next little while.  I’ve got several hours worth of The Roosevelts by Ken Burns to catch up on.  Mom said it was pretty good, so I’m very much looking forward to firing up the DVR.  But not tonight.  Tonight, it’s an episode of 20/20 about those creepy little girls who tried to murder their friend so they could meet the Slenderman.  Hey, I only watch PBS part of the time.

Leave a Reply

 
