myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Thunderstruck”

Posted by purplemary54 on September 30, 2014

The title of this song is how I felt just a few moments ago when I read that founding band member Malcolm Young is permanently retiring from AC/DC because of dementia.  I don’t know how advanced his illness is, although the band has recorded and will soon release an album without him.  While Malcolm was never the character his brother Angus was, he helped fill out AC/DC’s sound, making them one of the toughest and tightest Hard Rock bands ever.

I can’t imagine how Malcolm and his family must be feeling right now.  The idea of losing my faculties and memory so completely is terrifying to me.  Dementia is one of the Big Scary Diseases.  I do crossword puzzles partly because I like words, and partly because I heard they can help ward off dementia.  I think I’ll start doing them a lot more now.

Malcolm Young isn’t all that young anymore, but he’s not that old either, only 61.  That’s too young to be losing pieces of yourself that way.  As a Buddhist, I know I should be more enlightened and remember that we are all part of the whole, that the individual self is merely an illusion.  But in a way, that terrifies me even more.  Every little part of himself that Malcolm loses is also a part of me.  Forgetting is frightening.  Oh, I’ve forgotten lots of small things–phone messages, doing chores, etc.  And I’ve forgotten some big ones (there’s a lot of novels, stories, and poems I could’ve written if not for the ideas I’ve forgotten).  But to lose chunks of your life . . . to lose people and experiences wholesale . . . to forget the little talismans and rituals that represent your existence.  That thought makes me shudder.

I wish the entire Young family luck and peace during this time.  And I hope Malcolm keeps the part of himself that remembers how loved he is forever.

2 Responses to ““Thunderstruck””

  1. Sandee said

    That IS scary! I thought maybe learning a new language might help ward off dementia as well.

Leave a Reply

 
