myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Hero Takes a Fall”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 13, 2014

I suppose my last post could be seen as ripping on the Bangles, but that wasn’t my intention.  True, I think “Eternal Flame” is one of the most hideous songs to ever assault my ears (think nails on a chalkboard, and you have my opinion of that song).  I also didn’t think much of “Walk Like an Egyptian” and “Manic Monday”.  Something about their biggest hits just kind of grates on my nerves.

But the Bangles were a talented band, and I know it meant a lot to girls of my generation to see an all female Pop/Rock band be successful.  They usually weren’t my cup of tea, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy some of their stuff.  Their cover of Paul Simon’s “Hazy Shade of Winter” is far superior to the Simon and Garfunkel version.  They added some glitz and grit to the pathos, making it a more evocative song, IMO.  And sometimes, they were just kind of irresistible.

The hook in “Hero Takes a Fall” is one of the sharpest I’ve ever heard, delivered with verve and sex appeal by Susanna Hoffs.  The music is tight, and they always looked like they were having a great time performing.  I think people underestimate the Bangles a little bit.  Maybe because they’re “girls.”  Or maybe because their music always seemed kind of slight and lightweight.  But good Pop/Rock is hard to pull off; you have to walk a very thin line between being appealing and accessible without looking stupid.  The Bangles walked that line–in high heels, no less–like experts.

2 Responses to ““Hero Takes a Fall””

  1. 45spin said

    I was always a Go Go’s fan as they seemed to have a harder edge to their songs. However The Bangles had this sweet Power Pop sound that makes some their songs some of the happiest and sweet sounds of the eighties. Nice Post

Leave a Reply

 
