myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

1000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die: Goin’ Home

Posted by purplemary54 on November 10, 2014

Before my finger landed on this entry in the book, I’d never heard of Archie Shepp or Horace Parlan.  (Of course, my Jazz education has some rather large, glaring holes, so that doesn’t really mean much.)  But Tom Moon feels this is one of the musical pieces that needs to be heard, and from the little I’ve sampled so far, I am inclined to agree.

Archie Shepp was part of the avant-garde Jazz scene in the 60s, but he veered back into more traditional Jazz in 1977 with his collaboration with Horace Parlan.  The piano (Parlan) and saxophone (Shepp) combination is simple but potent.  I can’t tell you much about stylistics or tunings or tones.  What I can comment on is the way this music seems to envelop you in a warm, velvety glow.  This is music to listen to by firelight, maybe with a nice glass of single malt scotch.  It is dark and kind of melancholy, but not negative or sad.  It is just glorious.

This seems to be the only track from the album Goin’ Home on YouTube (it was the only one I could find, at least).  But Shepp and Parlan made at least one other album, Trouble in Mind, and I feel I should also post their version of “St. James Infirmary” because it is a terrific rendering of one of my favorite Jazz/Blues/Folk classics.

I don’t think any music lover will be disappointed by any of Archie Shepp and Horace Parlan’s work.  Feel free to explore more, and suggest some listening for me.  I do still have some room on my iPod, after all.

2 Responses to “1000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die: Goin’ Home”

  1. I listen to a lot of jazz, but somehow have never gotten around to Archie & Horace. Now I will-thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
