myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“3 in the Morning”

Posted by purplemary54 on December 1, 2014

Today’s song is from one of the blogs I follow, the creative and cool Disashi Soul. I’ve said before that Rap/Hip Hop is not really a genre I have a lot of breadth or depth of knowledge about; I am a middle-aged, middle-class white woman after all.  So I depend on luck, happenstance, and recommendations to help me find new tunes.  I got really lucky here.

If you haven’t checked Disashi out, you really should.  This song should be evidence enough of that.  I get the early morning dread this rumbling, rhythmic track explores.  (Been there, done that, got the bags under my eyes to prove it.) But there’s a soulful and hopeful edge to this.  The message is simple: Don’t do down, and if you do get your ass back up again.  Disashi is part of the group Gym Class Heroes, another check mark in his favor, although “3 in the Morning” is from a different project called New School.  This is cool stuff, and I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

 
