myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Twelve Days of Christmas

Posted by purplemary54 on December 13, 2014

I just realized that there’s twelve days before the big day, and I haven’t once inflicted any Christmas music on you nice followers.  Depending on your perspective, this may be a good thing.  (I know precisely how limited my own tolerance of Christmas music is, so I can understand why people might want to avoid it.)  But here goes.  I’m gonna try to post a Christmas song of some sort for every day leading up to the holiday.  And no, it won’t be twelve different versions of “The Twelve Days of Christmas”: that’s just where I happened to start out.

I first heard this on Dr. Demento’s radio show, and I thought it would be appropriate since it was announced earlier this year that Twin Peaks would be returning soon-ish with nine new episodes (I’m still kind of giddy about that).  This song was never officially released, at least not that I could find.  I only heard it a couple of times, and recorded it directly off the radio one of those times (I’ve still got that cassette, too).  It’s totally silly, and more than a little stupid.  I can’t tell if all the bits were recorded by actors from the show, but you can tell some of them are the genuine article.  If you love Twin Peaks, and don’t mind hearing a Christmas classic skewered, this song is for you.

Leave a Reply

 
