myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“I’ll Be Home for Christmas”

Posted by purplemary54 on December 14, 2014

“I’ll Be Home for Christmas” is one of those Christmas standards that I don’t think everyone thinks about too much anymore.  To most of us, it’s just a sweet, kind of sad song about longing for home during the holidays.  And it is.  But let’s put it in context.

Released in 1943, “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” is written from the point of view of a soldier serving in WWII.  (If you don’t already know about that subject, then maybe you should start taking some History classes.  Quickly.)  The war was raging, and so many men (and women) were very far from everyone and everything they loved.  The ache in this song is so palpable that I can’t listen to it without crying, and it hits home for me even harder now that Daddy’s gone.

This is, of course, Bing Crosby’s song, and I thought it was best to use his version for the post.  It was the original, after all.  But I am personally partial to Leon Redbone’s version, so here’s the link in case you want to hear it, too.  It’s not really that different, but the sadness is softened a bit.  Have some Kleenex handy either way.

2 Responses to ““I’ll Be Home for Christmas””

  1. I love the song. I sang it last night in a Christmas revue (Roy Orbison-style).

Leave a Reply

 
