myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Fairytale of New York”

Posted by purplemary54 on December 20, 2014

So Melancholy Christmas has kind of become Pissed Off Christmas.  Or in the case of this song, Pissing Drunk Christmas.  Which is not really anything new in my family.

I don’t mean to imply that my family is anything like the bitter, dysfunctional couple in this Pogues classic.  There have been relatives on both sides with alcohol problems, but mostly we’re social drinkers.  When I was kid, it seemed like everyone got a happy buzz going, and then indulged in a high-spirited (loud) discussion (argument) about some trivial thing.  Who was the greatest baseball player?  The Searchers or Red River?  Etcetera, etcetera.  Sometimes the discussions would be political, but no one was ever really angry.  At least, I don’t think so.  My memory is hazy about all that business; I was generally too busy playing with my mile-high stack of toys to pay much attention.

Of course, that was Dad’s half of the gene pool.  My mother’s side of the family was always more sedate, but I really don’t know what the grown-ups did there, because I had a passel of cousins to play with.  (My brother and I were the only kids on Dad’s side until we were teenagers.)  I do know that Mom’s family was more (publicly) polite, conservative, and religious, so I suspect things were more or less pleasant.

Holidays are about the same, just smaller.  There’s always good food, some wine and beer, and somebody gets more than a little loud at least once.  It’s all good.  And least we’re not the couple in “Fairytale of New York.”

Leave a Reply

 
