myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Water Under Bridges”

Posted by purplemary54 on January 15, 2015

So I was tooling around the iTunes store last night, looking for music to spend money on, and I decided to see what Gregory Porter had been up to.  This song came out in 2013, but it hit me like a sledgehammer to the heart.

I cried.  The grief and ache in Porter’s rich voice just hit me so hard that the short preview had me in tears.  There really isn’t anything I can add.  Listen if you haven’t already.  Then listen to more by this unbelievably talented man.  You’ll never, ever be sorry.  (And I want to thank Sandee once again for turning me on to this dude a couple years ago.)

3 Responses to ““Water Under Bridges””

  1. Sandee said

    Darnit! I was meaning to get back to comment on this — I “liked” but had to leave abruptly and had planned to get back to say something! It took me five days to say I’m so glad that you really appreciate him as an artist. This is a beautiful song. My friend had just introduced me to him when I posted that song. That was a rough period, and the song I posted of his back then was like a salve. This is the beauty of social media, being able to stretch across states and continents to share things like this.

    • He is an amazing artist. This particular song made me think of my dad, even though it’s obviously about a romantic relationship. I’d take even the worst days with him if I could have him back.

      • Sandee said

        Oh, Mary, I can only imagine how you feel. How fortunate that you had someone like that in your life, someone that you had been so close to to appreciate moments together ~sigh~

Leave a Reply

 
