myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Terry Pratchett

Posted by purplemary54 on March 12, 2015

I’ve mentioned my love of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series here before.  His satirical fantasy world helped poke good humor and righteous outrage at human foibles and failings, small and large.  I have fairly limited patience for most science fiction and fantasy, but anyone who makes me laugh as hard as Pratchett did transcends any bias I might have against the genres.

So you can imagine how heavy my heart is right now.  Sir Terry Pratchett died today at 66, far too young.  He was diagnosed in 2007 with a form of early onset Alzheimer’s.  He fought the disease with the same good humor and righteous outrage found in his books.

I suppose I could’ve found something musical to post.  Several of the Discworld novels were adapted for the screen, and I’m sure there was music in them.  But I think I’d rather share with you my first exposure to Pratchett’s weird and wonderful flat world floating on the backs of four elephants, who are in turn floating on the back of a giant turtle.  Reaper Man is centered around the character of Death, which is all I’m going to tell you about it.  Audiobooks are a form of album, after all.  (Although I personally recommend you read the books instead.)

“There’s a saying that all roads lead to Ankh-Morpork. And it’s wrong. All roads lead away from Ankh-Morpork, but sometimes people walk along them the wrong way.”   —Terry Pratchett

Leave a Reply

 
