myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Percy Sledge

Posted by purplemary54 on April 14, 2015

Famed Soul singer Percy Sledge has died from natural causes at 73.  While he had a number of popular songs, Sledge was best known for his first and biggest hit, “When a Man Loves a Woman.”

I figure if you’ve got to be known for one song, this is a pretty good one.  It’s loving and tender and kind of sad.  I admit it’s never been a favorite, but I think that’s partly because I’ve heard it so much.  “When a Man Loves a Woman” is one of those ubiquitous songs that just about everyone knows to some degree.  You heard it on the radio growing up, or it was in your favorite movie.  Or maybe this was the song your older sister danced to at her wedding.  Maybe your dad used to sing it to your mom when he thought all you kids had gone to sleep.  The very presence of this song in so many people’s lives tells me that it’s a classic.  If that’s the only thing fans remember Percy Sledge for, then I think he did all right.

2 Responses to “Percy Sledge”

  1. Yeah, this one was a bit of a Quota Song for me, but he had another nice hit, “Take Time to Know Her” that I’d like to hear again.

    • Yeah, I can imagine as a performer that you’d need to play the popular tunes–and that’s one of the most popular. As for the other song, your wish is my command. It’s a nice one, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
