myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Repost: “Do It Again”

Posted by purplemary54 on April 18, 2015

I was bored the other night, and changed up the look of the blog.  I’m not sure why changing things up a little makes me think of this song, except for maybe the lyrics I reference.  Today’s been generally not a good day, too.  Which makes me think of the vicious cycle that is life.  Let me know what you think of the new look, okay?

One of my favorite Kinks songs, “Do It Again” chronicles the boredom and alienation of life, the greatest vicious cycle of them all. I don’t mean that life is bad, or anything negative. But it is just one damn thing after another. “Day after day, I get up and I say, ‘C’mon do it again.'” It doesn’t really matter what you do, how much you love your job or your family, eventually it wears you down. You get fed up and tired. And it doesn’t matter what you do to change things up, you’ll still be the same person who will eventually get fed up with everything all over. “The days go by, and you wish you were a different guy, different friends and a new set of clothes. You make alterations and affect a new pose: a new house, a new car, a new job, a new nose. But it’s superficial and it’s only skin deep, because the voices in your head keep shouting in your sleep, ‘Get back!'” (A possible homage to the Beatles?) What are you trying to get back to? I suppose that depends on who you are. And who you want to be.

There’s a sense of history to this song, but that’s no surprise. Ray Davies has always been the most British of the British Invasion rockers. He seems to carry his nationality with him like a touchstone. It’s a big part of the reason why the Kinks never had the same commercial success in the U.S., but it’s also what makes him so interesting. He understands that a large part of his identity is tied up in his Englishness, and that much of what makes him English is bound up in the history of England. He gets that it’s just another cycle, and he’s just another spoke in the wheel.

I guess that’s how I’ve been feeling lately. I’m not in control of anything that goes on (as if I ever was), but I can control how I react. I’m still working on that one.

2 Responses to “Repost: “Do It Again””

  1. Like the look. The font seems a tad smaller, but I can lean in a little. Thanks for Kinks!

Leave a Reply

 
