myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Posted by purplemary54 on May 5, 2015

I don’t really have much to say today, but I didn’t want to slack off like I did yesterday, missing both Star Wars day and the anniversary of the Kent State Shootings (I still might post on that one).  Today’s holiday is pretty much an American invention, even if the day does have historical significance.  It’s still not Mexican Independence Day, though.

But if you feel so inclined, have a margarita or two and make tacos for dinner.  Celebrate because celebrating is fun.

4 Responses to “Happy Cinco de Mayo!”

  1. alundeberg said

    One of my students asked me the significance of this day, and I said, “Cheap margaritas?” I looked it up online, and sure enough it said today is used by many to go out and get drunk (followed by info about the Battle of Puebla). I have given up processed sugars, so I had a beer instead.

    • As long as it wasn’t Corona, you’re in the clear. 🙂 (Honestly, I don’t really care what kind of beer people drink, but I’m a snob and I think Corona is nasty.)

      It’s funny how Americans take days that would otherwise be solemn (St. Patrick’s Day) or historic (Cinco) in other countries, and turn them into excuses to get stinking drunk. Add fireworks, and you’ve got the 4th of July (my least favorite holiday).

Leave a Reply

 
