myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

1000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die: Damn Right I’ve Got the Blues

Posted by purplemary54 on May 7, 2015

I used to have this album.  I remember buying it, listening to it, and enjoying it.  But I didn’t listen to it all that often, I guess, and it got purged at some point.  Which was probably a mistake.  Because this really is a terrific album.

I first heard of Buddy Guy because of Stevie Ray Vaughan.  Guy was one of the players onstage with SRV during his final set on August 27, 1990.  He released Damn Right I’ve Got the Blues in 1991.  It was called a comeback of sorts, although Guy had been recording and performing since the 60s.  I guess it was something of a commercial comeback, since his name was back in the spotlight (a little bit, anyway) with the coverage surrounding SRV’s untimely death.  I know I bought it partly because I viewed it as something of a tribute to Stevie Ray, even though I knew better.

The other more tangible reason I bought it was Guy’s blistering version of “Mustang Sally,” which made it into MTV’s rotation.  All the tracks are great, but for a Blues novice like I was then (and still kind of am), “Mustang Sally” was probably the most accessible entry point.  Really, I should consider getting this one again.  It’s definitely worth the time.  Buddy Guy’s guitar is one of the best in the Blues.

4 Responses to “1000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die: Damn Right I’ve Got the Blues”

  1. alundeberg said

    I will definitely check this out!

  2. Daria said

    Wonderful album, the instrumental track “Rememberin’ Stevie” simply awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
