myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Belated Birthday Wishes

Posted by purplemary54 on June 12, 2015

It was the birthday of a dear friend of mine just a couple of days ago—let’s call him Kilgore Trout since he’s a huge Vonnegut fan.  I usually forget his birthday because it falls in June, and I’ve functioned on the school calendar for much of my adult life.  We worked together for a number of years, and while he was a year-long employee, I only worked the school year.  Even though we don’t work together anymore, we still get together occasionally.  It’s not as much as I’d like (and hopefully not as much as he and his lovely wife, also my friend, would like either).

Anywho, I ran into Kilgore unexpectedly a couple of weeks ago, and since we both said we should be in touch more, I thought a nice way to do this would be to send him some belated birthday wishes.  Since I’m pretty sure I can’t do this telepathically, I’ll do it with a slightly more conventional blog post and a song from a mutual favorite of ours: the late great Warren Zevon.  I thought this clip was pretty awesome, even though the end of the song is bleeped (hey, it was network television).

Happy birthday, Kilgore.  You know who to call if you need any lawyers, guns, or money.

Anyone besides me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
