myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Emanuel AME Church

Posted by purplemary54 on June 18, 2015

I’ve been considering how to tackle this news all day.  I hate what has happened.  I hate that there are people out there who would deliberately mischaracterize this act of racist terrorism to further other political ends (I’m looking at you, Fox News).  I hate that the government of South Carolina continues to foster the racism that led to this horrific act by allowing the Confederate flag to fly in front of the state house in Charleston.  I hate that this lunatic was given a gun for his birthday just a few weeks ago—by someone who maybe should’ve noticed that he was kind of unhinged.  (It may or may not have been the gun used in the shooting, but that doesn’t matter; what matters is that a crazy racist was allowed to have easy access to weapons.)  I hate that there are nine people who are dead for no good goddamn reason.

The last time I remember using this song was back when the Sandy Hook massacre took place.  I will now repeat what I said then, and what I’ve said every single time a mass shooting has taken place since: Ban all guns now.  Ban them.  No more automatic weapons.  No more fucking assault rifles.  No handguns.  Nothing.  Anywhere.  Ever again.  Repeal the Second Amendment.  Formally outlaw the NRA as a terrorist organization.  I’m done.

I know there are people out there who will disagree with me.  And I grant you, wanting to repeal one part of the Bill of Rights is pretty radical.  But I am pretty radical, and it’s clear that this particular amendment has outlived any usefulness it might have once had.  Remember, back when the Second Amendment was passed, a majority of people still had to hunt for their food.  There was no standing federal army.  There were no regular police forces.  If something needed protecting, a militia was called up.  That’s what the phrase “well-regulated militia” stands for.  Well, now we have regular forces charged with protecting the citizenry; there is no need for any well-regulated militias among civilians.  Considering the way they’ve been acting lately, I don’t think 90% of police officers should be allowed to carry guns.  So let’s ban weapons for them, too.  Great Britain’s cops don’t carry weapons for the most part, and their homicide rate is a lot lower than ours.  Guns no longer have a purpose in our society, so it’s time to get rid of them.

Give peace a chance.  Please.

4 Responses to “Emanuel AME Church”

  1. This was certainly racism, and, incredibly, it was applauded as the act of a hero by a firefighter in my area. He got fired. My state’s new governor’s pledged first act was to expand open-carry laws in Texas–a shoe-in. What a banner to wave! Oh, boy.

    • Oh boy, indeed. That’s kind of what creeps me out about Texas. Which is a shame, because besides having great music and great BBQ, it’s a really beautiful place.

  2. We have tight gun control laws over here in Ireland for the general public. 95% of our police force have no guns or weapons. The other five percent are highly trained cops who respond to situations where shots have been fired or the criminals are known to have weapons. And we don’t have these horrific scenario’s where someone not too tightly wrapped can walk into a church or a school or a cinema and open fire or you have cops pulling guns on teenagers at a pool party. I don’t always agree with President Obama but he was right when he said this type of killing does not happen with this kind of frequency in any other developed country. The Sandy Hook massacre was the one that killed all hope for me. Those were babies and they were slaughtered, if that doesn’t spur change nothing will.

    • I envy pretty much the rest of the developed world and their more sensible gun control laws. I cannot believe that any otherwise sane, rational, and intelligent person wouldn’t support much tighter gun control, especially after horrors like Sandy Hook. I know my views are so unrealistic as to be utter fantasy, but I hope our lawmakers will finally crawl out of the graves the NRA has dug for them, and start making changes.

Leave a Reply

 
