myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Girl In the War”

Posted by purplemary54 on August 9, 2015

If you’re not listening to Josh Ritter, then what the fuck is wrong with you?  You don’t like sublimely good, emotional, intelligent music?  If that’s the case, go away.  I want nothing more to do with you.

And I’d now like to apologize for those lines.  I don’t really want you to go anywhere, and you really do have the right not to enjoy Ritter’s music (but I’m going to question your taste just a little if you don’t).  I’m just kind of hyped up right now.  I just reserved myself a spot to see this wonderful singer-songwriter at Fingerprints in Long Beach, and on a scale of one to ten, my excitement level is something like 1,000.

I think I first found out about Josh Ritter from a review in Rolling Stone.  Or it might have been a piece on NPR one morning where they played a couple clips from songs.  However it was, I promptly forgot about him until I was browsing in a soon-to-close Tower Records one afternoon.  They had what was at the time his newest release, The Animal Years, at one of the listening stations so I cued it up.  “Girl in the War” was the first track, and I listened to the whole song right there in the store.  I sampled a few others (including the outstanding “Wolves”), and promptly added the disc to my pile of purchases.  I haven’t looked back since.  I’ve posted a couple of Ritter’s songs before, but if he’s new to you, please discover him the same way I did.  I’m pretty sure you won’t be sorry.

5 Responses to ““Girl In the War””

  1. Josh Ritter became a huge success here in Ireland through word of mouth, he was over here often early in his career the single ‘Jiggs and Me’ from his debut album The Golden Age Of Radio was a hit over here and soon he was opening for Irish bands like The Frames before headlining his own gigs. The guy must have toured every inch of Ireland at the beginning of his career. Always sounds intelligent and humble in interviews and was gracious in crediting Ireland with the international success that followed after Animal Years (which he would have got anyway in fairness, talent like that does not go undiscovered for too long), he was one those musicians who just fitted right into the Irish music scene both then and now. Great talent. Have a great time. His gigs over here were brilliant.

    • I knew he was pretty big over there. One of his best live albums was recorded in Ireland, and the audience was awesome on that (no surprise there). I’m so looking forward to this.

  2. Daria said

    I hadn’t come across Josh Ritter before, and after such a rousing recommendation I really wanted to like Josh Ritter.

  3. Daria said

    Didn’t finish – and I did! Just been exploring you-tube, and really liked New Lover. Just the sort of music I like listening to at a local bar. And he does it so well. Enjoy the gig!

    • “New Lover” was off his last studio LP a couple years back. It’s a cracker of an album, partly because it’s his “divorce album” (he split from his wife during the break between studio albums). Check out “Joy to You Baby” if you can; for some reason it reminds me of James Joyce’s story “The Dead,” but I can’t quite pin down why.

Leave a Reply

 
