myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“You Can Sleep While I Drive”

Posted by purplemary54 on August 17, 2015

I’ve been fighting a sinus headache off and on all day.  (I know it’s my sinuses because my ears pop whenever they clear for a minute.)  So this is a good level of noise for me.

I’ve never seen this video before, never even knew a video was made for it.  I was afraid it would be some overdone, melodramatic thing, a rip-off of your average Lifetime movie, but I was pleasantly surprised.  Although it’s clearly staged and a product of its time, it keeps the melodrama to a minimum.  The lack of anyone on the scene but Melissa Etheridge suits the loneliness of this song.

But this song doesn’t really need a video.  What it needs is darkness: a dark room, an empty highway, a horizon lit only by stars and a crescent moon.  There’s nothing about this song that lends itself to light or company.  Even though the singer is begging for her lover to come with her, I don’t think she means it.  She’s already halfway out the door when she starts the song; by the end, she’s in the car revving the motor, taking one long last look at wherever she’s leaving.  I love it.

Leave a Reply

 
