myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Beeswing”

Posted by purplemary54 on August 30, 2015

I’ve been going through some Richard Thompson CDs that I bought, but hadn’t gotten around to listening to yet.  (There’s always something that doesn’t get listened to right away in my collection.  Lots of somethings, usually.)  I adore Thompson’s work, and I got inspired to go back after watching an episode of Front and Center that featured him (great stuff; watch it if you get the chance).  When I was listening to 1994’s Mirror Blue, I found this devastating little number.  I don’t really recommend listening if you’re already depressed.

I like sad songs, but this one physically hurt.  A bone deep ache in your soul.  I felt all the sorrow and regret of lost love, lost chances, lost youth.  It’s perfect.  Richard Thompson (like his lovely voiced ex-wife Linda) understands how to draw intense emotion from his audience, and he plays this one like the master he is.  As the narrative unfolds, you know it’s going to end in heartbreak, but I don’t think any of the typical songwriting conventions prepare you for just how heartbreaking it is.  Not a word is misplaced, not a single note is superfluous.  He just weaves his web until you’re trapped in the silken strands just as surely as if they were chains.

Leave a Reply

 
