myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Because I Am Cranky Today

Posted by purplemary54 on October 11, 2015

Well, things have calmed down a little bit.  I got caught up on my school work (for the moment, anyway), including all the stuff that I didn’t do when I was sick for a week or so.  Mom’s doing okay.  She celebrated being cleared to drive by getting a haircut and buying cigarettes, dammit.  (Damn the cigarettes, not the haircut.)  We had the house sprayed for termites while I was sick (a more eco-friendly version that didn’t require the house being tented and us moving out for a week).  And got the oven door fixed when one of the hinges decided to quit.  I’m behind on my podcasts again, but I’m getting caught up on the laundry (one more load, I think. . . no, two since Mom’s bedspread needs washing).  All in all, I think I managed to survive.

Did I mention I was sick?  Oh yeah.  I only get sick maybe once or twice a year, but I pull out all the stops when I do.  I felt like something one of the cats heaved up.  I did a little heaving up myself, and just the idea of food put me off for several days; I couldn’t even watch food commercials on TV.  It took me about two weeks just to get my sea legs back.  I’m still not back into my old routines, but I’m getting there.

Of course the weather has been putrid–you know, since everything else was going so smoothly.  Because it was so hot when I was sick, I lost several plants outside because I couldn’t water.  We’re still in hell (literally, not figuratively) temperature-wise for the next couple of days.  That’s what the weather people keep saying, anyway.  The electric bill is through the roof the last couple of months.  (Thanks, climate change!)

All of this is to say that the last few weeks have not been a little slice of heaven.  And although there is a light at the end of the tunnel (probably from an oncoming train, but at this point, I don’t give a flip), I have been, shall we say, a little tense today.  Or, to put it another way, fuck the world and the horse it rode in on.  Between grocery shopping today, my 49ers stinking up whatever joint they happen to be playing in, and all the other little annoyances of life, I’m about ready to rip out the throat of the first person who asks me how it’s going.  It’s probably hormonal, but I can’t be sure since the hysterectomy made it impossible for me to tell which time of the month is that time of the month anymore.  (Thanks, giant fibroids!)

And there’s still a lot of crap stuff to do.  All the household stuff that always needs doing, of course.  And I’m late for my annual checkup (like two years late), so I need to see the doctor now that I’m feeling healthy again.  I’ve got a half-dozen other things that are causing the hamster wheel of worry in brain to spin faster and faster.  Generally, the best thing I can say about life right now is that I’m still alive.  And that’s probably a good thing.

Where am I going with all this ranting?  What kind of musical connection am I going to pull out of my ass hat?  Well, I’m glad you asked.  Because this song has nothing to do with anything.  But when I watched this video about fifteen minutes ago, it made me smile.  And given everything else, that’s a pretty big deal to me right now.

I hope it made you smile, too.

Leave a Reply

 
