myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Getting Ready to Get Down”

Posted by purplemary54 on October 17, 2015

There’s a reason this is the first official single from Josh Ritter’s new album, Sermon on the Rocks.  It’s also now officially one of my favorite songs by him.

I posted the video with the lyrics (even though they’re written in Josh’s not-so-tidy penmanship) because Ritter’s rapid-fire delivery can be a little dizzying, in a good way.  There’s also this really fun clip of a dance instructor teaching a dance he choreographed to the song.  Which makes sense since this is the most danceable song I think Ritter’s ever done.  Just today, as I was unloading the dishwasher and putting cat food away, I was shaking’ my booty to this tune (I even listened to it twice).  But I am a writer, and therefore lyrics are important to me.  And these words about living your life the way you want in spite of everyone else kind of need to be heard.  By everyone.

Leave a Reply

 
