myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)”

Posted by purplemary54 on November 9, 2015

Reposting “The Gambler” again made me think of how long Kenny Rogers has been around making music that people really enjoy listening to.  It might not be the best music, artistically speaking, but it’s good, solid, well-crafted music.  He’s also gone through a few stylistic changes over the years.  Most people recognized Kenny Rogers as a powerhouse Country hitmaker, but not everyone remembers that his first real hit was more Psychedelic than yee-haw.

Supposedly a rant against the use of LSD, “Just Dropped In” isn’t really as anti-drug as I think its creators intended.  It’s just a little too cool sounding to discourage potential tripping.  It’s also kind of atypical of The First Edition, the group Rogers was with at the time; apparently, they were more into the Country-Folk thing than the garage Rock thing.  Fun trivia, according to the Wikipedia page, this song was produced by TV theme song master Mike Post and the guitar solo was played by Country legend Glen Campbell.

This song had a bit of a resurgence in the 1990s, thanks to The Big Lebowski and a classic dream sequence.  That’s when I picked up on it as a pretty decent song; since I’m not much of a fan of Psychedelia, I’d pretty much ignored it before.  But like most of Rogers’ oeuvre, it’s an enjoyable listen.

I guess it’s about the right time to be waxing nostalgic about Kenny.  He recently announced he’s going to retire, from touring at least.  That’s okay; after I don’t know how many hits and at almost 80 years old, I think Kenny’s earned a nice peaceful retirement.

2 Responses to ““Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)””

  1. Really love this song – and wish to hear more like this from Kenny Rogers and his New Edition. Have you heard more songs like this by the band?

    • Since I’m not really a fan, I probably won’t be adding more from The First Edition; they were more of a Country act than Acid Rock, anyway, from what I’ve heard. But don’t rule out any more Kenny Rogers solo songs in the future. I wore out a greatest hits LP I had when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

 
