myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Why Can’t We Be Friends?”

Posted by purplemary54 on November 24, 2015

With all the fear and anger roiling around the world right now, this seems like a logical question to ask.  Why can’t we be friends?  Why do humans have to revert to their lizard brains all the time?  Why do we constantly behave as though we are competing with everyone else?  Why do we fear those who don’t look like us, or pray like us, or do anything else like us?  This isn’t rhetorical.  I really want to know.

Maybe I don’t understand because I’m not especially competitive.  I don’t care who wins or has the most toys, as long as everyone feels like they got treated fairly and has enough of the necessities.  That’s really all I want out of the world, and I don’t think it’s that much to ask.

It’s almost Thanksgiving.  I thankful for a roof over my head, decent food, education, good health, my family and friends, my pets, electricity, and indoor plumbing.  Nobody is shooting at me or trying to blow me up.  I’ve got it pretty good.  And my wish to Santa this year is that everybody else in the whole wide world gets the same things.  I won’t get it, but I’m gonna keep wishing for it, anyway.  And I’ll do whatever small things I can to make my wish come true.

I’ve made all these statements and asked all these questions before.  And like a four-year-old, I’ll keep asking until I get a satisfactory answer.

(Special Note: I did spellcheck, like I always do, and the program suggested I replace “pray” with “prey.”  Now I think that’s kind of odd.  Why would I want to exchange a word that means to ask with a word that means to hunt or be hunted?  And just why would the program think that’s what I meant?  *sigh*  More questions without answers.)

Leave a Reply

 
