myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Ziggy Stardust”

Posted by purplemary54 on January 15, 2016

I don’t know if this is the end of my Bowie-fest, but it is the end for this week.  All in all, it’s been a really bad year for the entertainment industry so far–yesterday it was announced that Celine Dion’s husband died after his long fight with cancer, and today was Dan Haggerty (children of the 70s know him best as Grizzly Adams).  I know the beginning and end of years tends to be a bit of a clearing out time, but this is just kind of depressing.

I’m a little afraid to look at the news, frankly.  I’m trying to hold on to my optimistic feelings about a new year, but it’s been hard in the face of all this public tragedy.  I think I’ll have to start over again with the Lunar New Year in February; it’s the year of the Monkey, after all, and I happen to be a Monkey (keep your comments about that to yourselves 🙂 ).

I think ending the week with “Ziggy Stardust” is appropriate, since that’s the character/persona so many of his fans associate Bowie with the most.  It was certainly his most distinctive character.  And the music from that period still stands as some of his strongest.  With Mick Ronson on guitar, Bowie was as sharp and smart as he ever got.

Leave a Reply

 
