myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Oscar Music Predictions

Posted by purplemary54 on February 27, 2016

It’s that time of year again, kiddies!  I have to admit that I couldn’t find any music I really liked this year.  None of the nominated songs really connected with me on a musical level, and I didn’t spend much time listening to the scores because I knew which one I was rooting for.

I haven’t seen The Hateful Eight.  I have no desire to see it.  But, come on.  It’s Ennio Morricone.  You try to talk me out of supporting one of the best film composers ever.  (Yeah, I’ve probably rooted against him in the past, but I’m not going to this year.)

As for the nominated songs, I just decided to go with the front-runner, Lady Gaga’s “Til It Happens to You.”

I’ve got no vested interest in anything Lady Gaga does; generally speaking, her music leaves me feeling, well, nothing.  Not good, not bad.  Just meh.  (That’s kind of a damning statement, since a lack of any emotional response means an extreme lack of quality, IMO.)  But she does have vocal talent and passion for her work.  And I totally respect her career choices and the way she is making an effort to stretch herself artistically and stylistically.  It might not be my brand of music, but good on her for busting out of the industry box she’d been put into.

And while I don’t care for this song as a song, I can really get behind the cause.  “Til It Happens to You” is from the documentary The Hunting Ground, which looks critically at the state of sexual assault and violence on college campuses across the country and the (lack of) response from some of our finest institutions of higher learning.  And some of the proceeds are being donated to help victims of sexual assault, so go to iTunes or wherever and buy a copy.  Given the personal stories of Lady Gaga and co-writer Diane Warren and the distressing result of Kesha’s attempt to break away from her abuser, this couldn’t be a more timely piece of work.  Pay attention, folks, because this is an issue that affects every single solitary one of us.  We need to end rape and violence, and an Oscar-winning song can only help make that happen.

Leave a Reply

 
