myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

“Let the Good Times Roll”

Posted by purplemary54 on March 14, 2016

I’ve had this song popping in and out of my head for a couple days now.  I don’t really know why, but as I’ve previously stated, I don’t know why half the things that pop into my head are there.  I just kind of roll with it.

Well, okay.  I don’t really “roll” with anything.  I am a bundle of anxiety and worry most of the time.  Between my hypochondria, what I’m pretty sure is Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and a really excellent imagination, it’s a wonder I can get any sleep at night.  One of my goals in life is to stop the hamster wheel inside my head and get some freakin’ peace.  It’s not as simple as relaxing or just not worrying about stuff until something happens, like many people have advised.  (It’s good advice; it just doesn’t apply to me.)  I often can’t turn off the thoughts that are bothering me so much.  I have to find a way to distract myself.  It’s one reason why I play dumb games on the Internet so much.  Music helps sometimes, but not always, since music is so tied to my emotions and memories.  Sometimes that’s exactly what I’m trying to escape.

Songs like this are good for me, though.  Catchy, fun, not associated with anything else in my life.  I remember hearing this in Animal House; I think Stephen Bishop may have even covered it for the soundtrack (or not. . . I’d look it up, but I don’t really care that much).  Yes, it’s a metaphor for sex.  A significant portion of popular music is a metaphor for sex.  It’s one of those primal things that virtually anyone can connect with on some level.  This is distraction.  Just what I need when my brain gets kind of funny.

2 Responses to ““Let the Good Times Roll””

  1. Kevin said

    Been their, got the T shirt. Music is the answer (music is always the answer), there are so many songs you have never heard of…not related to any person or memory. Dig into a totally new type of music…jazz or classical or electronic. Find something brand new to loose yourself in. That’s my advise…it works for me…

    • Sometimes a totally innocent song (read: not connected to me in any way, brand new to my ears) can trigger stuff. Sometimes that’s good, sometimes not so much. I listen to all genres, so it’s not just Pop/Rock for me. I’m not real big on certain subgenres, but there’s something good just about everywhere.

Leave a Reply

 
