myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Garry Shandling

Posted by purplemary54 on March 24, 2016

I really enjoyed It’s Garry Shandling’s Show back in the 80s.  (It was on Showtime the same night as Brothers, which was also really funny and had a great theme song.)  It was kind of odd and subversive and had a great deal of fun with subverting the sitcom genre.  I even remember the words to the theme.

I never watched his other show, but I know it was much more popular and much more bitter and sarcastic.  I’d like to remember him best as a good-natured goof who made me smile.  Thanks for the laughs, Garry.  I hope you join Robin and all the other great comics during the stand-up interludes at the Great Concert of Eternity.  (Hey, the musicians need breaks once in a while.)

2 Responses to “Garry Shandling”

  1. Holly said

    I just read about this, so sad to hear, but yes I have been singing the theme to his original show all morning now.

    • I didn’t hear about until right before I posted, but I spent most of last night singing it, too. If I’m totally honest, I’ve been randomly humming/singing it since the show was on the air.

Leave a Reply

 
