myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Prince

Posted by purplemary54 on April 21, 2016

It seems really weird to write this post.  Not just because Prince has left this plane of existence at only 57.  Not just because this is the most surreal year in the music business, and it’s only April.  (It’s going to get worse.  I just have this terrible feeling.)  But because I am posting about the loss of this brilliant, brilliant man and I am not posting a clip of him.

Prince was a paranoid, controlling son of bitch.  I don’t blame him for it; he knew that if he was going to make money off of his artistry, he was going to have to hold a tight rein on when and how it got disseminated.  I’m pretty darn okay with that.  But his control was such that he didn’t even post his own videos on YouTube, much less let someone else post them.  His online musical presence is pretty much nil.  He designed it that way.  If you wanted Prince’s music, you had to pay him.  Like I said, I’m okay with that.  But it makes paying tribute to him that much harder.

Prince was a true original.  He made music unlike anyone else.  In his music, you could hear echoes of influences, genre-bending styles, and an absolute disregard for what anyone else but Prince thought about pretty much anything.  He understood the world from a distinct perspective.  You could get glimpses of it in songs like “Let’s Go Crazy” and “Sign O’ the Times.”  You could hear it in the sexy playfulness of “Little Red Corvette” and “Raspberry Beret.”  You could see it in his smile and sideways glances at the camera in his music videos, or in his strut and swagger onstage.  But you never would get the full picture.  Prince managed to be something very, very few celebrities and artists ever pull off convincingly.  He was an enigma.

I’m still in shock.  After losing Bowie and so many others this year, it’s just kind of numbing.  When I go home in a few hours, I’m going to queue up some Prince on  my iPod, and I’m probably going to cry then.  Because even though I did not know him–almost nobody really did, I think–losing Prince today still hurts.  He was my generation’s funky master of all trades, jack of none.  He belongs to us even though he did his best to keep his distance.   That’s why I chose this cover of one of his songs by Cyndi Lauper.  Not just because it was one of the very few Prince-related songs I could actually find.  But because it  states what I’m feeling right now.  “I don’t care, ’cause I love you baby, that’s no lie.  I love you more than I did when you were mine.”

4 Responses to “Prince”

  1. Kevin said

    Very nice tribute. This was a hard one for me, I really loved his music. And God, I hope this year does not get any worse. It’s been damm tough so far.

    • Thank you for the compliment, Kevin. Prince really was amazing. I’m afraid this year is just going to keep getting worse for music lovers. I’ve got no proof (except for what’s already happened); it’s just a gut feeling.

  2. I don’t know how old you are but to say Prince was a “master of none” to me is a little “off”. I’m “older” and love music of all kinds especially R&R. I have 2 sons in the music business and have seen it is a dog eat dog business to survive in. I’ve seen some of the damage it can do first hand. If nothing else I believe Prince was a “master of Prince” and a damn good guitar player. We don’t know what demons he may have been fighting and it was not for us to know. He was there only to entertain us and will be sorely missed. Thanks for the article.

    • But I didn’t say he was “master of none.” Prince was the “master of all trades, jack of none.” He could do pretty much anything and everything better than anyone that’s on the charts today. And yeah, he was a pretty damn good guitar player, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
