myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Sharon Jones

Posted by purplemary54 on August 12, 2016

I just read in my newest Rolling Stone that singer Sharon Jones’ cancer has returned and spread.  Her current prognosis is not good.  Having been dealing with my mother’s latest illness, I’m especially sensitive to these kinds of stories.  While I’m not exactly a super fan, I think Jones is an extraordinary singer and performer.  And it breaks my heart to think of all that marvelous talent being cut down so quickly.

Like the late great Warren Zevon, Jones is not taking her diagnosis lying down.  She is working, with a new album almost completed.  I’m looking forward to hearing it.  But in the meantime, let’s celebrate her while she is still hear.  And let’s enjoy this music.  Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings really put the soul in Soul Music.

Leave a Reply

 
