myelectronicjukebox

Just another WordPress.com site

Gene Wilder

Posted by purplemary54 on August 29, 2016

I step away from music for a moment to remember Gene Wilder.  He was one of those actors I’ve always loved because he was a presence in my childhood.  Young Frankenstein and Blazing Saddles (my favorite) were staples in my family from the moment they were released.  I didn’t see Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory until I was an adult.  (And the fact that the adult comedies were staples of my childhood while I had to seek out the kids’ movie as a grown-up should tell you a great deal about why I’m such a twisted little weirdo.  Although that is one twisted kids’ movie.)  Wilder was also a favorite of mine for his devotion to his wife, the brilliant Gilda Radner, during her illness and ultimate death from cancer.  He was a very funny and very good man.

News of his death today from complications of Alzheimer’s makes me terribly sad for all of us on this plane of existence.  But for everyone he loved who have already transitioned to the other plane–people like Gilda and frequent co-star Richard Pryor–there is much rejoicing.  Now they can all be brilliantly funny together again.

Leave a Reply

 
