“Solsbury Hill”

Standard

Through the lovely Kina I found dan4kent, and I read this lovely post on his blog.  It got me thinking about things, about who I am and the mistakes I’ve made and the way I still obsess over stuff that happened in the past, some of it over 30 years ago (in case you haven’t noticed, I’m getting up there in years).  I know, have known for a long time, that I need to let things go, but the little hamster wheel that is my brain keeps going round and round and round.  I’m pretty comfortable with myself, although I still get really down on myself once in a while.  But I know there’s still a lot of baggage I need to lose at the airport before I can really take off.  I’m working on it.

When I really need to feel free, when I need to feel like I have managed to learn to let go of everything that weighs me down, I listen to this song.  I always feel like I can do anything when I hear it.  Looking at it from a certain angle, it can be taken as a death song (” grab your things, I’ve come to take you home”), but I view it as a resurrection.  Gabriel wrote it about the same time he left Genesis, so it can be seen as his liberation from the band.  And it is a liberating song.  From the gentle guitar and heartbeat drum that open to the tribal chanting that ends it, “Solsbury Hill” just soars, like an “eagle flew out of the night.”

There really is a Solsbury Hill.  It overlooks Bath in England.  Maybe I’ll go there someday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Today I don’t need a replacement.  I’ll tell them what the smile on my face meant.  My heart going boom boom boom, hey, I said ‘You can keep my things, they’ve come to take me home.'”

One thought on ““Solsbury Hill”

Leave a comment